top of page

53rd Annual GMA Dove Awards Nominees Announced

Updated: Aug 11, 2022

The Gospel Music Association is pleased to announce nominees for the 53rd Annual GMA Dove Awards. Top nominations include songwriter and producer Jeff Pardo with nine (9) nominations, Matthew West and Maverick City Music with seven (7) nominations each, six (6) nominations for Anne Wilson, Ben Glover, FOR KING + COUNTRY, Jeff Sojka, Jonathan Smith, and Phil Wickham and five (5) for Brandon Lake, CeCe Winans, Chandler Moore, Chris Brown, Jonathan Jay, and Steven Furtick. Voted on by the GMA Professional Membership, this year’s nominees were chosen from over 2,087 submitted entries.

Nominees were announced in a Christian music artist-hosted livestream event featuring Jimmie Allen, Erica Campbell, Evan Craft, Sonya Isaacs, Brandon Lake, Trip Lee, Chris Tomlin, and Tye Tribbett. The announcement premiered live on the GMA Dove Awards YouTube and Facebook pages.

“Congratulations to this year’s impressive list of Dove Awards nominees,” says GMA President, Jackie Patillo. “For the past few years, we’ve chosen a theme for each show representing our community and why we celebrate. Today we announced this year’s theme, Sound of Heaven. Although our musical styles may be different, our mission is the same. Together we lift one voice–the sound of heaven.”

Voting for the final winners will run from August 18th through August 25th. The GMA Dove Awards are happening live and in person in Nashville, TN, on October 18th, 2022. This year’s broadcast will air exclusively on TBN and the TBN app, Friday, October 21st, 2022 at 8:00p.m. ET and 10:00p.m. ET, with an encore presentation on October 28th, 2022 at 8:00p.m. ET and 10:00p.m. ET.

Below is the list of nominations announced during today’s livestream. For the complete list of nominees, visit

Song of the Year “Be Alright” (Writers) Sean Cook, Evan Craft, Willy Gonzalez “Believe For It” (Writers) Dwan Hill, Kyle Lee, CeCe Winans, Mitch Wong “Come What May” (Writers) Darren Mulligan, Jeff Pardo “Good God Almighty” (Writers) David Crowder, Ben Glover, Jeff Sojka “Hold On To Me” (Writers) Lauren Daigle, Paul Duncan, Paul Mabury “House Of The Lord” (Writers) Jonathan Smith, Phil Wickham “Jireh” (Writers) Chris Brown, Steven Furtick, Chandler Moore, Naomi Raine “Look What You’ve Done” (Writers) Tasha Layton, AJ Pruis, Keith Everette Smith, Matthew West “My Jesus” (Writers) Jeff Pardo, Matthew West, Anne Wilson “Promises” (Writers) Keila Alvarado, Joe L. Barnes, Dante Bowe, Phillip Carrington Gaines, Lemuel Marin, Aaron Moses “Rattle!” (Writers) Chris Brown, Steven Furtick, Brandon Lake

Artist of the Year CeCe Winans FOR KING + COUNTRY Maverick City Music We The Kingdom Zach Wiliams

New Artist of the YearPresented by Cantinas Arts Anne Wilson Blessing Offor DOE Jordan St. Cyr Ryan Ellis

Rap/Hip Hop Album of the Year No Church In A While – Lecrae, 1K Phew The End. – Trip Lee TWO UP TWO DOWN – Aaron Cole Unstoppable (United We Can) – Angie Rose UPPERHAND – indie tribe

Pop/Contemporary Recorded Song of the Year “House of the Lord” – Phil Wickham “In Jesus Name (God Of Possible)” – Katy Nichole “My Jesus” – Anne Wilson “RELATE” – FOR KING + COUNTRY “Scars In Heaven” – Casting Crowns

Pop/Contemporary Album of the Year Healer – Casting Crowns Milk & Honey – Crowder My Jesus – Anne Wilson Rise Up – CAIN What Are We Waiting For? – FOR KING + COUNTRY

Bluegrass/Country/Roots Recorded Song of the Year “All Is Well” – Carrie Underwood “God Is Real” – The Sound “Grace And Goodness” – Sunday Drive “In The Sweet By And By” – Dolly Parton, ft. Larry Cordle, Carl Jackson, Jerry Salley, Bradley Walker “Mamas” – Anne Wilson, ft. Hillary Scott

Southern Gospel Album of the Year 2:22 – Karen Peck & New River Just Sing! – The Collingsworth Family Keeping On – Ernie Haase & Signature Sound More To The Story – The Kingsmen Something New – Legacy Five

Contemporary Gospel Recorded Song of the Year “Adulting – Live” – Jonathan McReynolds, Mali Music “Believe For It” – CeCe Winans, ft. Lauren Daigle “Gotta Believe” – Tasha Cobbs Leonard “Sunday” – Koryn Hawthorne “When I Pray” – DOE

Contemporary Gospel Album of the Year Clarity – DOE Jonny X Mail: Live in LA (Stereo) – Jonathan McReynolds & Mali Music Jubilee: Juneteenth Edition – Maverick City Music Oil + Water – Travis Greene One Touch – Jabari Johnson

Gospel Worship Recorded Song of the Year “Breathe” – Maverick City Music, ft. DOE, Jonathan McReynolds, Chandler Moore “Goodness of God – Live” – CeCe Winans “Jesus “ – Phil Thompson “Lazarus” – Maranda Curtis “Love Song” – Travis Greene, ft. Madison Binion

Worship Recorded Song of the YearPresented by CCLI “God, Turn It Around” – Jon Reddick “Hymn of Heaven” – Phil Wickham “I Speak Jesus” – Charity Gayle “Jireh (Radio Version)” – Maverick City Music ft. Chandler Moore, Naomi Raine “Know You Will” – Hillsong UNITED

Worship Album of the Year Are We There Yet? – Hillsong UNITED Homecoming (Live) – Bethel Music Hymn of Heaven – Phil Wickham LION – Elevation Worship SEVEN (Live) – Brooke Ligertwood

Spanish Language Recorded Song of the Year “A Ceigas” – Indieomar, Musiko “Color de Alegria” – Andy Alemany, TWICE, Samuel ASH “Danzando” – Gateway Worship Español, ft. Daniel Calveti, Becky Collazos, Christine D’Clario, Travy Joe, Josh Morales “Júbilo” – Maverick City Música, Miel San Marcos “Mi Salvador” – Mosaic Msc

Inspirational Film/Series of the Year American Underdog Blue Miracle Redeeming Love The Chosen The Jesus Music

bottom of page